A A 🖶

Bevill State Community College Selects NISOD Excellence Award Recipients

October 26, 2017

Bevill State Community College is proud to announce its recipients of the annual NISOD Excellence Awards. 2018 honorees include the following faculty members: Tony Bolton, Auto Body Repair; Jim Sanford, Math & Physics; Dr. Greg Taylor, Biology; and the late Cyrus Brock, English.

NISOD’s Excellence Awards recognize men and women each year who have demonstrated an outstanding commitment and contribution to their students and colleagues. In 1989, in connection with a University of Texas at Austin national study of teaching excellence, NISOD hosted its first ceremony honoring NISOD Excellence Award recipients. The response to that ceremony was so positive that NISOD began what has become the largest and most inspiring gathering that recognizes the contributions and achievements of community and technical college faculty, administrators, and staff.

“The services and educational opportunities that Bevill State Community College offers northwest Alabama are based upon the quality and commitment of an outstanding faculty and staff. Mr. Bolton, Mr. Sanford, Dr. Taylor, and the late Mr. Brock are shining examples of the outstanding faculty we are fortunate to have on each of our campuses. I commend their dedication and congratulate them on this well-deserved recognition,” stated Dr. Kim Ennis, Interim President of Bevill State.

Excellence Award recipients will be celebrated during NISOD’s annual International Conference on Teaching and Leadership Excellence, May 27-30, in Austin, Texas. During the Excellence Awards Dinner and Celebration, held in conjunction with NISOD’s annual conference, each Excellence Award recipient receives a specially cast, pewter medallion hung on a burnt-orange ribbon. The names, titles, and colleges of all Excellence Award recipients are included in a special booklet that features congratulatory ads from many of the recipients’ colleges. In addition, presentations at the conference involving Excellence Award recipients are indicated in the Conference Program with a special icon.

“Recognizing those individuals who have contributed to student success and their colleges’ mission is something we look forward to doing each year,” said Dr. Edward J. Leach, NISOD’s Executive Director. “The extraordinary work of these men and women includes not only what they do for their students and colleagues, but what they do for the communities in which they live and work. We’re honored to be able to play a part in celebrating their achievements.”


For community and technical colleges that want to make the most of their professional development dollars, NISOD provides budget-friendly, high-quality, and faculty-focused programs and resources. For nearly 40 years, NISOD’s customer-focused approach has helped align our wide array of benefits with the needs of our members. For more information about NISOD, visit www.nisod.org.